What's new
Embers Adrift

Register a free account today to Ignite your Adventure! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate with the Embers Adrift community. Your active account will also be the same account used to purchase, download, and login to the game.

Loot tables really need some work

Hammergoblin

I've been playing MMO's of every kind now for well over 20 years. Started with Asherons Call (Darktide) back in 2000 and played pretty much every western MMO since. One of the most fun (and addictive) qualities of MMO's is loot. Finding cool gear.. incrementally improving your character and the hopes that once in a while you'll find that rare drop that makes a noticeable difference for a few levels and/or REALLY adds some flavor to your class.. Occasionally a GOOD crafting system will let you fill in some spots without being OP or removing that urge to hunt and find better stuff. No crafting system should provide BIS for every slot.. maybe just a couple. And for decently crafted gear the mats are possibly rare (like ember). Most players under 20 look like hobos wearing cut up blankets and pots and pans tied to their body.

Whether you realize it or not, whether you want to admit it or not.. and whether you like it or not. This is a simple truth.

So herein lies the problem with Embers Adrift. The loot drops are horrid. Even fighting difficult mobs seems pointless and your chances of seeing anything worthwhile are extremely slim. (you usually need a good sized group for a lot of difficult content and the roll system means you're chances of winning a rare drop are extremely slim)